Stories of the Buildings

The Tower AreaHistorical Buildings

 Built in November 1920, the facility was first rice wine distillery. The area features buildings at varied heights, and the partial wooden trusses and slanted roofs exhibit techniques and unique properties of materials from different eras.

 Part of the tower’s façade and floorplan showcase meticulous symmetry. The walls feature washing finish of stucco technique; the tower is equipped with various vertical wooden windows and wooden arched windows, displaying a unique architectural style.

E3B Umay Theater Historical Buildings

 Built in March 1931, the standalone building has a long corridor-like space. The shutters were installed onto the windows to control the amount of light coming into the building.

 The brace beams by concrete frameworks, the column stones connecting to the roof truss, and long-span iron roof truss, are witnesses of Taiwan’s technical standards of industrial architecture in the 1930s.

 Steel trusses are installed on top of the exposed pillars, and the horizontal arrangement of the pillars creates a penetrating visual effect; together with the light coming in from transoms and French windows on the walls around, the building inspires cultural creativity.

 In December 2016, the building shed its original winery look and officially opened as “Umay Theater.” Huashan 1914 Creative Park actively supports dance, theater, and music creations, creating a new creative stage for performing arts practitioners. Telling stories through body, interpreting thoughts through texts, and conveying emotions through sounds, Huashan 1914 aims to present diverse artistic and cultural experiences. The theater has tiered seats, professional  equipment, and exclusive dressing rooms. Whether you are a performer or audience member, we look forward to you joining us to enrich the environment of Taiwan’s performing arts. We welcome all partners to join us at Huashan. Performing groups enjoy priority to apply for the theater, and some timeslots are available for general commercial activities.

Smokestack  Historical Buildings

 The smokestack is one of three municipal historical sites in the park. The smokestack was built in 1931 to fit the furnace facility during the construction of the new Taipei Wine Factory. It has since watched over Huashan for over 80 years.

 The inner diameter of the smokestack is 2.5 meters at the bottom, and 1.2 meters at the top. When it was first constructed, its height was 50 meters. It was once the landmark of the industrialized Taipei. In the 1970s, the fuel for the furnace was switched from coal to heavy oil, and the height of the smokestack was cut short by 3 meters.

E2 Silian Building ABCD

 The Silian (Four-Interconnected) Building was built in March 1933. It is a standalone factory space featuring a long-corridor. The structure features steel frame, reinforced concreted beam and girder system, and bricks. The façade has a gable where the entrance is located. The gable is decorated with arch key stone. The building has arched windows, stucco finish window frames, stucco finish decorations, horizontal decorative bands, and long-span steel trusses and asbestos roof. The elevated ceiling and large interior space inject modern architectural characteristics and functionalities for the old warehouse.

M4A Red Wine Factory

 Built in November 1933, the two-storey building is built with bricks and steel beams and pillars. The roof connects three interconnected buildings from north to south, which are perpendicular to the two factories. Half of the interior has an elevated ceiling at nearly 10 meters, and the other half has a second floor; together with the mottled walls, the interior space showcases diverse variations.

M4B Rice Wine Factory

 Built in November 1933, the two-storey building is built with bricks and steel beams and pillars. The roof connects three interconnected buildings from north to south, which are perpendicular to the two factories.

 The second floor has many circular holes at around 5 meters in diameter where fermentation tanks were originally installed. When sunlight penetrates into the building, a penetrative visual effect is created between the first and second floor, creating a unique atmosphere.

 The edges of windows and corridor pathways are decorated with unglazed ceramic bricks custom made by Beitou Pottery Company, displaying an unadorned beauty.

M3 Sake Factory

 Part of the first group of buildings from the Houjou Wine Company era, this facility had been used as the head office in 1922.

 The building is given sufficient natural lighting by many windows. The inner and outer walls are all 1-meter thick. Stucco finish makes the walls sturdy and heat-resistant, and the interior is comfortable in all seasons. The arched gate further helps to create a unique space. The building is suitable for educational trainings and smaller exhibitions.

Huashan Brick Lane

 The courthouse was built in 1918, and was one of the two most famous modernized camphor refineries in Taipei during the Japanese colonial period. The building has witnessed the rise and fall of Taiwan’s camphor industry, and is thus designated as one of the historical buildings in the park by the central government.

 The compound is connected to Huashan Grassland via the outdoor square, which gives the interior and outdoor spaces diverse functionalities.

 W1 and W2: The compound is connected to Huashan Grassland via the outdoor square, which gives the interior and outdoor spaces diverse functionalities. With exclusive entrance and traffic route, the building can be used as the reception area featuring large outdoor visual designs. W1 and W2 can be combined to provide a larger exhibition space and separation of exhibition sections.

 W5-1 and W5-2: The building is connected to Huashan Grassland via the outdoor square, and the buildings and outdoor area can be used as reception area featuring large visual designs.

M5B Broiler Room

 Built in 1931, the single-level brick building is two storeys tall and has iron framework. A brick broiler mouth and old broiler apparatus are preserved inside to showcase the wine factory’s charm of aged memories.

 The short corridor outside the building has 100 years of Huashan’s history posted on both walls, making it Huashan’s time tunnel.

M2 Fruit Wine Dance Studio

 The Fruit Wine Factory was built in 1959, and the assembly hall on the second floor was originally used for assemblies at the wine factory. Featuring numerous windows on three sides, the interior has sufficient natural lighting. In recent years, the hall has been used mainly for experimental theatrical performances, or rehearsals by performing arts groups. Sometimes the hall is used for smaller exhibitions.

 In 2016, the space is revamped and renamed “Fruit Wine Dance Studio,” where performing arts groups enjoy priority to use the studio for rehearsals. The studio also hosts Huashan Academy with VNUA, allowing the general public to come and experience dancing.

Huashan Theater

 The amphitheater in front of the tower is the largest outdoor space in the park. In 2003, the space went through landscape design, becoming a square with an outdoor stage and boardwalk. The large grassland and the historical structure of the tower in the backdrop create a comfortable outdoor space that can be used for exhibitions, performances and leisure activities.

E1B Garage Workshop

 The Garage Workshop is located to the east of the entrance, and was originally used as the firetruck garage, distillery room, wine tank room, and lounge. The workshop consists of front and back buildings, and was the first architecture built in the park.

 The garage has covered ridge with sidewall openings high above the ground, and is situated next to the outdoor square. The small yet simplespace exerts a unique atmosphere.

M4C Distillation Chamber

 The distillation chamber was built in 1933, and is three storeys tall. The building is connected to the Rice Wine Factory, and there are many circular holes drilled for the installation of distilling apparatus left behind on the floor, making it a unique space.

M5A Compounded Liquor Factory

 The factory was built in 1933. The detached space features a long corridor-like interior with large triangular iron framework; along the north outer wall is a corridor-like working platform. The interior is rectangular and has an elevated ceiling. The wooden roof and window frames preserve the old warehouse vibe, and mix with the iron frames from later renovation to form a beautiful sense of contrast. This is a space marvelled by professionals in the fields of theater, costume design, fashion, TV, and film.

M7 R&M Workshop

 The R&M Workshop was built in 1931. The building is divided into three spaces; the small room in the south was originally a warehouse for components, which is now suitable as a control room or preparation space. The space to the right is an ideal backstage or reception area, whereas the space to the left is suitable for rehearsal and small-scale performance as it is lined with wooden floor. The gate to the right has aerial roots of banyan trees hanging down the frame, making it a natural and intriguing entrance.

Art Boulevard

 The Art Boulevard was originally the main access road for the factory’s cargos, and is a corridor-like outdoor space that connects the buildings in the eastern part of the park. It is the main pathway for visitor traffic in the park, and serves as the best link between flanking buildings including the Garage Workshop, Plum Wine Factory, Silian Building, Compounded Wine Factory, Rice Wine Factory, Red Wine Factory, and Fruit Wine Building.

 The continuous gables create a unique and rhythmic skyline; far away are rows of green trees that act as the terminal view, composing the unique landscape of the park.